Rule 8 - Scoring
SECTION 7. Responsibility and Impetus
Article 1 - Responsibility
Article 2 - Initial Impetus
a. The impetus imparted by a player who kicks, passes, snaps or fumbles the ball shall be considered responsible for the ball’s progress in any direction even though its course is deflected or reversed after striking the ground or after touching an official or a player of either team. (A.R. 6-3-4:III) (A.R. 8-5-1:II, VI and VIII) (A.R. 8-7-2:I-IV)
b. Initial impetus is considered expended and the responsibility for the ball’s progress is charged to a player:
1. If he kicks a ball not in player possession or bats a loose ball after it strikes the ground.
2. If the ball comes to rest and he gives it new impetus by any contact with it, other than through forced touching (Rule 2-11-4-c).
c. A loose ball retains its original status when there is new impetus.