Rule 6 – Section 3 – Article 2 – Beyond the Neutral Zone
a. No inbounds player of the kicking team shall touch a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone before it touches an opponent. This is illegal touching, a violation that, when the ball becomes dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball at the spot of the violation (Exception: Rule 6-3-4) (A.R. 2-12-2:I) (A.R. 6-3-2:I).
b. This privilege is cancelled if there is an accepted penalty for a live-ball foul by either team (A.R. 6-3-2:I-IV) (A.R. 6-3-11:I-III).
c. The privilege is cancelled if there are offsetting fouls.
d. Illegal touching in Team A’s end zone is ignored. Illegal touching on a try results in no score. Illegal touching in an extra period results in team possession ending.