Rule 6 – Section 1 – Article 4 – Forced Touching Disregarded
a. A player blocked by an opponent into a free kick is not, while inbounds, deemed to have touched the kick. (A.R. 2-11-4:I)
b. An inbounds player touched by a ball either batted or illegally kicked by an opponent is not deemed to have touched the ball (Rule 2-11-4-c).
Rule 6 – Section 5 – Article 1 – Dead Where Caught
a. If a Team B player makes a fair catch, the ball becomes dead where caught and belongs to Team B at that spot. [Exception: If a Team B player makes a fair catch of a free kick behind Team B’s 20-yard line, the ball belongs to Team B at its own 20-yard line. The next snap shall be from midway between the hashmarks, unless a different position on or between the hashmarks is selected by the team designated to put the ball in play before the play clock is at 25 seconds or before any subsequent ready-for-play signal. After the play clock is at 25 seconds or any subsequent ready-for-play signal, the ball may be relocated only after a charged team timeout unless preceded by a Team A foul or offsetting fouls.]
b. If a Team B player makes a valid fair catch signal, the unimpeded opportunity to catch a free or scrimmage kick continues if this player muffs the kick and still has an opportunity to complete the catch. If he (or another Team B player) subsequently catches the kick, the ball is placed where he first touched it. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground. (A.R. 6-5-1:I-II)
c. Rules pertaining to a fair catch apply only when a scrimmage kick crosses the neutral zone or during free kicks.
d. The purpose of the fair catch provision is to protect the receiver who, by his fair catch signal, agrees he or a teammate will not advance after the catch. (A.R. 6-5-5:III)
e. The ball shall be put in play by a snap by the receiving team at the spot of the catch if the ball is caught (Exception: Rules 6-5-1-a, 6-5-1-b, 7-1-1-c and 8-6-1-b).